Skip to main content


The society is deeply grateful for the generous sponsorship of a number of Fellowships that are awarded each year:

SCTS-Ionescu Fellowships

Read more about Marian Ionescu

There are a number of fellowships available for all career grades, including medical students

Current Fellowships


Ionescu Fellowship 2021 winners

We are delighted to announce the fellowship winners of the Ionescu Fellowship 2021:

Ionescu Travelling Fellowship for a consultant

  Mr Vipin Mehta, Consultant Cardiac and Transplant Surgeon, Manchester University Hospital

Ionescu Consultant Team Fellowships

  • Ms Carin Van Doorn, Consultant Congenital Cardiac Surgeon Leeds Teaching Hospital
  • Mr. Hazem Fallouh, Consultant Thoracic Surgeon University Hospitals of Birmingham

Ionescu NTN fellowships

  • Mr Damian Balmforth, London NTN, St Bartholomew Hospitals London

  Mr Oliver Harrison, Wessex NTN, University Hospital Southampton

  • Mr Nikhil Patil, West Midlands NTN, Royal Stoke University Hospital
  • Mr Umar Hamid, Northern Irish NTN, Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast

Ionescu NTN Early years travel fellowships

  • Mr Mayooran Nithiyandan, East Midlands NTN, Nottingham University Hospitals

Ionescu Trust Appointed Doctors fellowships

  • Mr Adnan Raza, Senior Clinical Fellow, Nottingham University Hospital

Mr Riccardo Abbasciano, Clinical Research Fellow, University Hospitals of Leicester 

Ionescu FY2s and CTs fellowships

  • Mr Jason Trevis, Academic FY in James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough.
  • Ms Rachel Chubsey, CT2 in Vascular Surgery, University Hospitals of Leicester.

Ionescu AHP Fellowships

  • Mr Janesh Nair, Senior Cardiothoracic SCP in Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester.
  • Ms Sophie Wang, Senior Scrub Nurse in Harefield Hospital, London.

Ionescu Medical student fellowships

  • Josh Brown, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Bertram Harrington, Newcastle University

Clarissa Young, Kings College London

  • Momna Raja, Brighton and Sussex Medical School

Ethicon Fellowships

                                                                            Current Fellowships

Ethicon 2021 Fellowship winners

We are delighted to announce the Ethicon 2021 fellowship winners:

Stuart Grant - ST8/Academic Clinical Lecturer, Wythenshawe Hospital has been accepted at Toronto General Hospital and will start his fellowship in January 2022 for 12 months. The focus of Stuart's fellowship will be advanced aortic surgery, tructural cardiac surgery and transcatheter techniques.

James Barr - ST8, Guy’s Hospital, London has been accepted at Toronto General Hospital specialising in Lung transplantation and thoracic surgery and will start his fellowship in October 2021 for 12 months.

James will spend six months working in the department of thoracic surgery and the remaining six months of my fellowship in lung transplantation.

Thomas Tsitias - ST8 St. George’s Hospital, London has been accepted at Toronto General Hospital in the Department of General Thoracic Surgery and started his fellowship in January 2021 for 12 months.

Thomas will be working and regularly operating next to the attending surgeons that routinely perform major pulmonary resections (incl. bronchoplastic sleeve), resection of mediastinal tumors, chest wall reconstruction and tracheal resection.