Skip to main content

My Committees

You must log in to view your committees.

Student Education

SCTS Student Education would also like to announce the creation of our new SCTS Student  Education Committee. We want this student committee to assist in the safe education and introduction of students to surgery with courses and engagement events. The aim of the Student Education Committee shall be to encourage medical and sixth form students to embark on a career in cardiothoracic surgery. We aim to help students in developing an interest in the field of cardiothoracic surgery and acquire a set of skills and knowledge that will help them in their future surgical careers.

These aims and objectives shall be:

  1. To provide an educational forum for those interested in cardiothoracic surgery.
  2. To guide and support students who have an interest in pursuing a career in cardiothoracic surgery.
  3. To run a mentoring scheme, providing a cardiothoracic surgical contact for our students
  4. To organise surgical skills tutorials to facilitate members developing their abilities in surgery
  5. To organise and host talks and networking events to educate members on the many facets of surgical careers
  6. To organise and host a national conference
  7. To encourage members to take a more active role in surgery and related activities and medical specialties
  8. To organise and host regular social gatherings and events for members.

Click here to read the profile of the student members


Committee Members

Member Office Term of Office
Ms Karen Booth Student Lead 2021 - 2024
Professor Farah Bhatti OBE Student Lead 2021 - 2024
Mr Josh Brown Communication Lead 2021 - 2023
Mr Amerikos Argyriou Student Lead Officer 2021-2023
Dr Bertie Harrington National Events Officer 2021-2023
Ms Maria Solange de Paiva Moura Research Collaborative Officer 2021-2023
Mr Rishab Makam Treasurer 2021-2023
Miss Javeria Tariq Widening Access Officer 2021-2023
Miss Amelia Websdale Regional Events Officer 2021-2023
Miss Kirstie Kirkley Mentorship Officer 2021-2023
Mr Josh Brown Communications Officer 2021-2023
Mr Alexander Reynolds Equality and Diversity Officer 2021-2023
Miss Chaninda Dejsupa Medical School Liaison Officer 2021-2023